7 Compliments That Are Actually Underhanded Insults

Technology has made it so much easier to convey our opinions about things that never really mattered to us before. It takes a nanosecond to compose and post a comment on someone’s Facebook status, reply to a tweet or give your remarks about their ‘outfit of the day’ on instagram.

In a sandstorm of content being pushed our way everyday, it’s hard to decipher the real intention of the poster but some comments just stand out. Here’s the ones that always seem to catch my attention:

  1. You look great. Have you lost weight?

fat

I really haven’t but thanks for telling me you thought I was fat before.

2. You’re so brave! I would have never been able to wear that colour/pattern

ecde0c25d7a8717bda96e3b1cefdd187

I would have never been brave enough to wear your face in public either.

3. You look so much better when you have make-up on

Liz-lemon-eye-roll

Thank you for pointing out that you think I look like shit without make-up.

4. You look so young!

wtf4

Because aging is a crime?

5. You’re so lucky to have such a perfect life…

2204355-im-feeling-lucky-o

Yeah it’s totally luck. It’s not like I sweat out tears and blood everyday to make sure I’m successful. It’s just that I’m lucky…

6. You are not like other girls/ You’re a total bro!

tumblr_n19edgajZU1tqs1heo1_500

What’s wrong with other girls?*

7. You’re so photogenic, I couldn’t recognize you in real life

ef36c195d8f4e91ff137a83d5db19573608b8da78e405f54dbd2a93fe2eb1020

Yeah my mother thinks I’m ugly too.

Have you ever received any underhanded compliments that you thought were actually really snarky? If so please let me know! 😀

*inspired by pinterest

Leave a Reply

